**Attention local customers: Our Newton location is open for curbside pickup only. Select "curbside pickup" as the shipping method in checkout.**

Concerto in E minor, Op.64 for violin and piano (urtext); Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto in E minor, Op.64 for violin and piano (urtext); Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto in E minor, Op.64 for violin and piano (urtext) by Felix Mendelssohn

Urtext edition by Ullrich Scheideler, with markings by Igor Ozim. Published by Henle

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) is one of the most important German composers of the Romantic era. He was most comfortable composing in a charming, relatively conservative style influenced by the Classical period and free from many of the developing trends of the Romantic Era, while incorporating important innovations in many works. He also held a singular position in German musical life as the founder of the Leipzig Conservatory, a prominent conductor of the renowned Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, and a seminal figure in the revival of the music and legacy of Johann Sebastian Bach.

Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64 is one of his most celebrated and important works. It was groundbreaking in its time for its written out cadenza, prominent solo line, and considerable technical demands. Its charm, lyricism, and and strong personality led Joseph Joachim to declare it ''the heart's jewel'' of violin concertos. Today, it remains one of the most central and popular concertos in the repertory. This excellent Henle urtext edition contains marked and unmarked parts, as well as critical and historical commentary. Master level, Grade 6.

Weight: 0.9 lbs
Book Type: Repertoire
Ensemble: Accompanied Solos
Publisher: G. Henle
In Stock

Ensemble Accompanied Solos
Book Type Repertoire