Hat Graduation Sale through June 30 | Strings, Sheet Music, Books, Cases & More! Shop Now

12 Songs for Guitar; Toru Takemitsu (Schott Editions)

12 Songs for Guitar; Toru Takemitsu (Schott Editions)

Toru Takemitsu (1930-96) was one of the first Japanese composers to enjoy international renown. His music is unmistakeably modern, though transparent and open, with subtle interplay of textures and colors. He found inspiration in the music of Debussy, Messiaen and Cage, as well as traditional Japanese music. His scores reflect a balance between performer freedom and careful, detailed notation.

His 12 Songs for Guitar are concert arrangements, transcriptions, and free compositions in his personal style based on famous popular and folk songs. For advanced players.


A Song of Early Spring (Akira Nakada)

  • Amours Perdues (Joseph Kosma)
  • Here, There and Everywhere (Lennon & McCartney)
  • Hey Jude (Lennon & McCartney)
  • Londonderry Air (Irish Folk Song)
  • Michelle (Lennon & McCartney)
  • Over the Rainbow (Harold Arlen)
  • Secret Love (Sammy Fain)
  • Summertime (George Gershwin)
  • The International (Pierre Degeyter)
  • What a Friend (Charles C. Converse)
  • Yesterday (Lennon & McCartney)
Book Type: Repertoire
Ensemble: Unaccompanied Solo
Publisher: Schott Editions
In Stock

Ensemble Unaccompanied Solo
Book Type Repertoire