String Quartets, Vol. 1 [10 Celebrated] (parts); Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartets, Vol. 1 [10 Celebrated] (parts); Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartets, Vol. 1: Ten Celebrated Quartets (parts) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Edited by Andres Moser and Hugo Becker. Published by C.F. Peters

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) was one of the most prominent composers of the Classical period and is often considered one of the greatest composers of Western art music. A noted child prodigy, he excelled in all genres. His music is revered for its beauty, clarity, balance, and transparency, underpinned by sophisticated craftsmanship.

Mozart excelled in all chamber forms, including the string quartet. The grouping of quartets known as the ''Ten Famous'' is his last word on the genre and include his ''Haydn'' quartets--his undeniable peak masterpieces of the genre--, his exceptionally polyphonic Quartet No. 20 ''Hoffmeister'', and his ''Prussian'' quartets, written for the Prussian king and noted for their cantabile, soloistic cello parts. This quality Peters edition--volume one of two--contains all ten quartets. Parts only. Advanced level, Grade 5.


  • "Haydn" Quartets:
  • Quartet No. 14 in G Major, K.387 ''Spring''
  • Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K.421/417b
  • Quartet No. 16 in E-flat Major, K.428/421b
  • Quartet No. 17 in B-flat Major, K.458 ''Hunt''
  • Quartet No. 18 in A Major, K.464
  • Quartet No. 19 in C Major, K.465 ''Dissonance''

Quartet No. 20 in D Major, K.499

"Prussian" Quartets

  • Quartet No. 21 in D Major, K.575
  • Quartet No. 22 in B-flat Major, K.589
  • Quartet No. 23 in F Major, K.590
Weight: 2.4 lbs
Book Type: Repertoire
Ensemble: Quartet - String Quartet
Publisher: CF Peters
Out of Stock
List Price: $67.00
Ensemble Quartet - String Quartet
Book Type Repertoire