JSI logo
My Account
Shopping Cart
What's On Sale? | Accessories, Cases, Strings and more.

Lament, for contrabass and piano; Ellen Taaffe Zwilich (Theodore Presser)


Lament was originally composed in 1999 for solo piano, in memory of Judith Arron, whose visionary goals for Carnegie Hall were matched by her abilities to achieve them. The performance challenges in Lament are musical rather than technical: finding and projecting the line from beginning to end, using rubato for expressive and formal purposes, shaping phrases, achieving variety of color, and employing these dimensions to create a spontaneous and personal rendering. Two piano parts are included to provide for solo tuning as well as concert pitch performance.

Book Type: Repertoire
Ensemble: Accompanied Solos
Publisher: Theodore Presser
In Stock