**Attention local customers: Our Newton location is open for curbside pickup only. Select "curbside pickup" as the shipping method in checkout.**

W. E. Hill and Sons viola bow, circa 1915

W. E. Hill and Sons viola bow, circa 1915
Catalog ID: C-3072

Since its establishment in London in the mid-18th century, the Hill family workshop has flourished for over 250 years as the oldest continuously operating violin firm in England, and one of the most important in history. Under the direction of William Ebsworth Hill (1817-1895), the company was renamed in 1880, when he was joined by his four sons, William Henry (1857-1927), Arthur Frederick (1860-1939), Albert Ebsworth (1865-1940), and Walter Edgar (1871-1905). As leading experts on historic Cremonese instruments, the Hill firm handled the restoration and sale of the world's finest instruments and bows.

Particularly known for their bows, W. E. Hill & Sons employed numerous top bow makers, including Samuel Allen (1838-1914), Frank Napier (1885-1969), Albert Leeson (1903-1946), Edgar Bishop (1904-1943), William Charles Retford (1875-1970), and Malcolm Taylor (1934-2012), among numerous others.

Today, the W. E. Hill & Sons workshop resides in the historic Burgh House in Hampstead, London, where it resumed crafting new instruments and bows in 2018. Under the direction of violin makers Stefan-Peter Greiner and Robert Brewer Young, bow maker Derek Wilson, and the managing directors of J&A Beare, the firm once again offers the excellence of an enduring English tradition.

Round. Ebony and silver fittings.
In Stock

Call For Price
Request More Information
Instrument Style Hill, W. E. & Sons